PPCR Expert Group

An Expert Group was established by the PPCR Sub-Committee to make recommendations on the selection of countries that will receive financing under the PPCR.

Country selection recommendations considered:
  • Transparent vulnerability criteria;
  • Country preparedness and ability to move towards climate resilient development plans;
  • Country distribution across regions and types of hazards.



The Experts:

The Expert Group consisted of eight members with a wide range of scientific, economic, social, environmental, development, policy and/or governance/institutional expertise, as well as climate-related knowledge in areas such as agriculture, forestry, fisheries, and health.  Mr. Burton and Mr. Huq served as the group's Co-Chairs. 


Mr. Shardul Agrawala, Principal Economist, Climate Change, OECD, France
Governance and Institutions
Mr. Ian Burton, Scientist Emeritus position with Environment Canada and Emeritus Professor with the University of Toronto, Canada
Climate Scientist / Climatologist
Mr. Nick Brooks, Independent Climate Change Consultant and Visiting Research Fellow, University of East Anglia, U.K.
Rural Development Specialist
Mr. Saleemul Huq, Director of the Climate Change Program at the International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED), U.K.
Development / Climate Change Policy Specialist
Mr. Nobuo Mimura, Director, Institute of Global Change Adaptation Science, Ibaraki University and Vice President Extraordinary, Ibaraki University, Japan
Environmental Specialist
Mr. Leonard Nurse, Senior Lecturer, Center for Resource Management and Environment